Who Am I: Hobbies and Interests

Hobbies:

  • reading: primarily romance novels, memoirs, and political commentary and fiction; also the Economist, Popular Science, Psychology Today, Scientific American, The Week, Cosmopolitan/Glamour
  • writing: mainly academic pieces, erotic fiction, or on occasion lyrics/poetry
  • kayaking, when water is available
  • boating (preferably on speedboats), when water is available
  • fishing, though my experience is limited
  • whitewater rafting, though my experience is limited – I loved it
  • singing, though I’m out of practice: I sing ballads and showtunes best, on occasion can pull out some operatic strings
  • dancing: interest in Tango, Swing, Salsa, and general “clubbing” dancing
  • baking and cooking, when time allows; during the holidays and pumpkin season especially
  • trying new things –> this is a hobby, because I quite literally regularly seek out things I have not done and endeavor to do them, including events, museums, locales, etc. in the vicinity of wherever I am living
  • learning, both in a hands-on, trying new things way and in a general absorption way
  • window shopping
  • movies (@ the theater): I enjoy sports movies, political thrillers, action movies, romantic comedies, any music/dance/underdog story, and animated movies. I’m not a fan of horror movies
  • television: favorites channels include HGTV, Food Network, USA; favorite shows include Army Wives, Grey’s Anatomy, Parenthood, The Big Bang Theory, NCIS, Law and Order: SVU, Glee, Gilmore Girls, Friends
  • spending time with my friends and family doing all of the above

My interests, policy-wise, lean towards international relations (particularly sub-saharan Africa, Western and Southeastern Europe, and Brazil), energy, economics, emerging technologies, the environment, intelligence and security studies, and nuclear non-proliferation.

Leave a Reply

