Noisy Neighbor Fail

This is another clusterfuck of randomness, but that really seems to be what my life is lately.

First, my neighbors are being inordinately noisy right now. It’s Thursday, people. I get it – I want to party too. I even like your music…but I have class in the morning, and I’m tired, and I don’t want to hear it right now. I do get some satisfaction that when I filed the noise complaint, apparently other people had already called it in. AKA, they’re annoying the hell out of everyone, not just me.

Then, there are a lot of good’n’bads of the last few days.

  • Good –> I got accepted to go to the ARPA-E Energy Summit in DC in 2 weeks! I get to hear Steven Chu, Arnold Schwarzenegger, and a host of other politicians and energy experts speak. I’m pumped. Bad –> I have to take some mini-finals early to be able to go to the conference. Good –> I got $500 in funding from my school, so I get to stay at the luxury hotel the conference is being held at, and it cuts WAY down on logistical stress and spending. Bad –> I have to buy new career stuff to look snazzy. Good –> I get to go shopping!
  • Bad –> my friend’s car got towed from my apartment lot yesterday. It cost her $125 to get back, and I felt awful. Stupid towing people.
  • Bad –> my laptop has these funky lines on the screen, indicative of a failing video chip/cord or some such thing. It needs to be repaired, and I really don’t have time for that. Good –> I bought the extended on-site warranty, and they send someone to my house to fix it, free of charge! YAY! It would cost $600 to repair if I didn’t have this…aka I would’ve had to have bought a new computer, and I’m too broke for that.
  • Good –> It was 65 degrees today!!! YES! WARMTH and SUNLIGHT! It really does make that much of a difference in my life.

Things are going well, in general. I’m still really enjoying everything in my life, which is great. I’ve been talking a lot with some friends who aren’t really happy with what they’re doing, and they don’t know what they like to do. I’m lucky – I know what I want to do, and I want to do it because it satisfies me, enthuses me, and inspires me, not just because of the potential acclaim I will receive. I love public policy. I absolutely adore research, especially about energy subjects. I enjoy policy analysis – figuring out trends in numbers and doing the analysis excites me. I know my passion, and I’m blessed for it.

Sure, I may not end up in the job that does that right away. I have to get my foot in the door and figure out if a federal agency, think tank, committee, consulting firm, or ngo is the best place for me to do the type of work I want to do. The benefit is that working in any of those places will only help me at the others, so I really can’t go wrong to start. I’m still focusing on the feds to start since it’s the hardest to get into, but I’d be equally happy at any of them. I’m one of few people I know who can say that, and I feel extraordinarily blessed.

It’s hard to believe that at this time last year, I was waiting to hear from grad schools, uncertain about my future and my own ability to succeed. I have so many more skills now, academically, and I have so much more insight professionally, as well as so many more connections. I have a great group of friends, I’m living in a wonderful city, and I am really “finding myself.” I’m even letting my inner kinky side out, and I’m taking it by the balls and attending things by myself without tweaking out (yay for progress!).

I only hope that the rest of 2011 continues in this fashion, especially after I move to DC. I’ll miss the communities I’m currently part of.

Leave a Reply

