ChugChug

Chugging along, slowly but surely. Just a few things on my mind today.

1) FINALS. Ick. I’m making progress with my studying, but it’s rough. I hate having to choose between doing what I want to do, and what I should do. At the end of the day, I’m paying big money to learn things from this program, and I have to prioritize my education. It sucks – I’m passing up play opportunities, parties, and other fun things in order to study. *bitchbitchbitch* I do acknowledge what is most important, though, and I can’t blow 7 weeks of work in one weekend. So, studying it is.

2) I leave Pittsburgh 2 weeks from tomorrow. Of those I know that are also leaving, I’m the only one who is actually attached to Pittsburgh. Other people are sentimental about the friends who will be in Pitt for their 2nd year, but I will actually miss the city itself. I love the ambiance, the attitudes, the attractions. I immersed myself in all that Pittsburgh has to offer, and so I’m sad to leave it. I would be happy living here long-term. It makes me sentimental about Indiana, even.

3) Maturity and age do not always correspond. Soap box of the week: you need to respect your body, yourself, and those you care about. It is better to be classy than to be crazy. You can let loose and still be classy, if you are aware of your surroundings. No matter what it seems like, when you’re interacting with peers who will someday be colleagues, you should maintain some semblance of sanity.

4) I used to test in the Myers-Briggs as an INTJ: Mastermind. I’ve retested twice lately, and both times have come out as ESTJ (w/ the “e” being just barely). The descriptors fit me so well it is kind of creepy. IE:

“ESTJs are joiners.”

“ESTJs are driven to give service to the community in such areas as government employee, military or police officer.”

“ESTJs are very good at making impersonal decisions quickly.” “They value competence and efficiency.” “Their logic and honesty sometimes make them insensitive to others’ emotions.” “They are easily engaged in various pursuits.”

“ESTJs value security and social order above all else, and feel obligated to do all that they can to enhance and promote these goals. They will mow the lawn, vote, join the PTA, attend home owners association meetings, and generally do anything that they can to promote personal and social security.”
5) Have I mentioned I love to dance? I love it! I can’t wait to get involved in the social dance scene in DC. Thank God for friends who like to try new things with me!
Leave a Reply

