Weekly Musings

Friends are in town visiting this weekend, and I hadn’t realized quite how much I missed them until now. It’s great having friends where you can all sit in a room reading in comfortable silence. We had amazing sushi yesterday and went to a hookah bar, and it was a lot of fun. I’ve never been able to successfully do hookah before, but I finally figured it out! I missed a kinky game night thing that I really wanted to go to, but it did end up worth it. I definitely was more than a little drunk, which for me is a rarity.

The last few weeks have been busy. Work is going well. My office is a bit quieter than I prefer – I’m realizing I like to have a good mix of independent and group work, or a more social/active environment. I’m happy that the work I’m doing is making a difference, though. I’m still seeking for fall; I know I could stay where I am, but I haven’t decided what I want to do yet. I’m interviewing elsewhere on Tuesday, and we’ll see how that goes. Having a well-paid position would really make a different in my life here.

There was a massive colony of little white flies in my room the night before last, which was horrifying. I’ve been a bit hesitant on my room since then.

Did you know that wind turbines black out radar detection systems, so terrorist planes can get out of sight? I might get to work on a policy relating to this, and I’m pumped.

Dan Savage was quoted in the NYT on monogamy and poly relationships. It’s a VERY good read if you have time: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/03/magazine/infidelity-will-keep-us-together.html?pagewanted=1&_r=3&smid=fb-nytimes. Best quote: “If you are expected to be monogamous and have one person be all things sexually for you, then you have to be whores for each other.”

We are 99% likely going to be getting a kitten. I’m very afraid for my allergies, but a cute fluffball will be worth it. At least kittens are cuddle-able, whereas hamsters sort of just scamper away nonstop.

I am very much craving rope lately, and maybe some good pain. I have some plans for the 9th, but I’d like to get involved in DC. There is a rope meeting on the 10th that I really want to go to, but it is at 6pm. I’m not sure when we’re leaving Pittsburgh that weekend. Hopefully, I’ll be able to make it.

Happy July 4th! It’s my favorite holiday, so I’m off to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

