As Things Go Forth

Randoms since being home…

I’m inordinately excited, much in the same way my third grade self was, for my holiday gift of Oregon Trail. I can’t wait until I get to play it (I left the Wii in DC).

My uncle is working on (another) social networking startup. He’s paying me to come up with gift proxies to use as examples for when it goes beta…I like this sign that he’s evolved to respecting my opinion. (The money is nice too.)

My doctor confirmed my negative opinion of the doctor I saw in DC. My health is great – my levels of everything are better than the average female. This was a huge relief after all the sickness drama of September and October.

I like how in Indiana, being a homebody isn’t being a homebody, it’s just home. It’s natural. It’s what you do. Everything is centered around who you are with and enjoying the time together, rather than a hyper focus on being seen, new people, and and making memories people won’t remember. I like meeting new people, dancing, and going out too, but I enjoy spending time with my family and friends and getting to actually talk and joke with them. I feel like in DC, people feel guilty for doing that. Here, it’s just what we do.

I’ve also realized that my mother is quite literally never happy. That sounds overdramatic and exaggerated, but really, it isn’t. She sincerely is never happy. She is always complaining about something or saying how something could be better, she never lives in the moment and enjoys what is. I think at times, she nags with less negativity, but it is still a sign of discontent and dissatisfaction. My sister is much the same way. I wish I could drill down the lesson that happiness is a choice. If you aren’t happy with some part of yourself or your life, do what you can to change it or find a way to make peace or live with it. Realize that you are the only one responsible for your happiness. Make lemonade.

Best movie quote recently:  “You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.” -We Bought A Zoo. Cheesy, but oh so true.

Also, there is a serious lack of photos with a male rigger as the subject. I’d love to see a photo shoot that encompassed, potentially even featured, the rigger. A man coiling rope, pondering which position or torment to induce, pinning together wrists to tie, etc. is sexy as hell. Add some graininess and make it black and white, or feature a colored rope/belt/bandana (cowboy? please?), and we’d have something really awesome.

Leave a Reply

