Random Collection of Inspirational Things

“Do not chase people. Be you and do your own thing and work hard. The right people who belong in your life will come to you, and stay.” – WuTang

“If you’re going to try, go all the way. Otherwise, don’t even start.” – Charles Bukowski

“Don’t wait until everything is just right. It will never be perfect. There will always be challenges, obstacles, and less than perfect conditions. So what. Get started now. With each step you take, you will grow stronger and stronger, more and more skilled, more and more self-confident, and more and more successful.” -Mark Victor Hansen

“If you are depressed, you are living in the past. If you are anxious, you are living in the future. If you are at peace, you are living in the present.” -Lao Tzu

“Have you ever dated somebody who is evil? Life is about friendships. So when you start dating someone evil, and your friends are like ‘I don’t know about that person,’ and you say, ‘You don’t know them like I know them.’ That’s what you say, right? ‘You don’t know them like I do.’ And it’s like, ‘Look at that burning building, I think I’m gonna run into it.’ And your friend says, ‘No, you’ll die.’ And you say, ‘But I’m cold.’” – Matt Nathanson

Helen Croydon, The Telegraph, September 20, 2012 (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/sex/9553083/Slut-Selfish-Sad-No-just-a-single-woman.html)

I’ve spent most of my life single. I’ve had a few long-term relationships and far more than my fair share of short-term ones, but I’ve always felt a greater zest for life when navigating the world alone. My energy, my sense of adventure, my ambition, my friends, my fitness, my career, my joie de vivre all seem to thrive when single. I have loved men ferociously, but a little part of me wilts when I belong to someone else.

But Why You’re Not Married …Yet, a candid relationships guide published last week, suggests the reason a single woman doesn’t have a ring on her finger is because she is either a bitch, shallow, a slut, crazy, selfish, a mess, hates herself, a liar, acting like “a dude” (author Tracey McMillan is American and has been married three times) or thinks she is a goddess. There is a chapter devoted to each reason.

Leave a Reply

