Day 24, 30 Days of Me

Day 24: Describe your family dynamic of your childhood vs. your family dynamic now.

I feel like this is beating a dead horse – I’ve discussed my family, my childhood, etc. a ton by now.

So my family dynamic now…I call home maybe once/twice a week, usually on my way home from work and it’s a brief call. I most frequently talk to my mother, unless I get off work late and my dad is home. I text my sister occasionally. I’m going home for the holiday, and I will likely see my parents again in May/June  for a little bit.

I get along all right with my family now. It’s a bit odd. I enjoy spending time with them, and miss them a great deal. That said, I can’t mentally handle more than a week at a time because of the issues my family members have, both independently and with one another. It becomes too stressful. I generally try to keep the peace, give unbiased advice when asked for it, and enjoy what time I can with them.

In my childhood…I kept the peace, and by doing so neglected my own internal peace. I was the therapist for my mom, the mediator between my mom and sister, the silent companion to my father. I was a lot of things I didn’t always want to be, and I never just was. That about sums that up.

 

Leave a Reply

