Devotion

I was debating word choice in a Fetlife writing earlier, specifically regarding the word “devotion,” and it made me think. It stood out because “devotion” seems like a very strong term. In brings about thoughts of worship, religion, and devoutness to me. I originally chose it because submission, to me, involves devoting a significant amount of time and energy to my Dominant (pleasing and serving him, obeying him, and making him a priority). Making anyone a priority involves a certain level of devotion to that person.

In my internal debate over whether or not to change the word, I looked it up in the thesaurus.

Devotion: adoration, affection, allegiance, ardor, attachment, consecration, constancy, dedication, deference, devoutness, earnestness, enthusiasm, faithfulness, fealty, fervor, fidelity, fondness, intensity, love, observance, passion, piety, reverence, sanctity, service, sincerity, spirituality, worship, zeal.

Furthermore, here’s the dictionary definition of devotion:

dev-o-tion, noun

1) profound dedication; consecration

2) earnest attachment to a cause, person, etc.

3) an assignment or appropriation to any purpose, cause, etc.: the devotion of one’s wealth and time to scientific advancement

4) Often, devotions. Ecclesiastical. religious observance or worship; a form of prayer or worship for special use.

In both instances, I boldfaced the parts that call out to me. Devotion is the perfect word for how I imagine submission. I aspire to have a romantic relationship wherein my partner could use any of those synonyms to describe my love for and actions toward him. Devotion really is the most ideal word choice :).
Leave a Reply

