March Dawns

Off with the book reviews, on to the personal things.

I regularly follow Dan Savage, and one of his truisms is the “campsite rule,” which states:

In relationships with a large age disparity, at the end of the relationship, the elder partner should leave the younger in “better shape than they found them”. This includes no diseases, no fertilized eggs, no undue emotional trauma, and whatever education that can be provided.

I was wondering if this same theory could be applied to D/s relationships of all types (perchance minus the fertilized eggs, should that be so desired of both partners). Basically, that all Dominants should take that same guardian type of attitude about their submissive. Thoughts to ponder.

I’m so blessed to have amazing friends. I’ve been pondering power exchange again, and really wanted to talk it through with someone. Unfortunately, while I have many kinky friends, I still feel uncomfortable talking about D/s with them. Honestly, I think part of it is that I put forth such effort to be seen as strong and in control around other people, even friends, that even discussing my submissive self makes me uneasy.

Thankfully, I have friends who understand even that, and it is incredibly helpful. It’s almost providential how someone will pop in with exactly what I need to hear, out of nowhere, no prompting from me. This time, a friend brought up going to the local MAsT (Masters and slaves together) meeting. She mentioned how good Dominants get their submissive to be their best and achieve their own goals, and was discussing how much strength goes into submission. Incredibly well-timed truth.

In other, less awesome things, was accidentally outed to my roommates today. It’s my own fault. I gave my phone to their friend to use to get our carry out, and I forgot to close out fetlife mobile. He was like – why does it say “what’s on your kinky mind?” … There was a three minute conversation about how furries, adult baby, and watersports are extreme, and I referenced 50 shades and handcuffs as being that’s it for me…then we all moved on. I’m uber paranoid they’re secretly judging me, though. Fail.

Leave a Reply

