2013 Year In Review (Part 1 – Fetlife Survey Recap)

I have my own process of reflecting on the year, but saw this on a friend’s fetlife profile and couldn’t resist. So while I’m sure there will be other 2013 reflection posts, I’m still going to do this one.

What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before? I went on a zipline in Vegas, I went to Harry Potter world in Orlando, I had korean barbecue, I learned to grill, I was a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding, I played a bunch of board games I never had played before, and I went to many new restaurants and touristy things.

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I kept some of them and didn’t for others. I saved the money I wanted to save, and at one point I had paid off my credit cards (alas, I spent them up again). I got addresses for a bunch of people. I went to a never-before-visited destination, and took a bunch of photos. I watched Secretary and tried wax and fire play. I did not do a 5K, work out enough, compile all my online passwords, try cupping, acquire a flogger, or write an erotic story (although I have extensive notes and could still do that in the next few days…)

Did anyone close to you give birth? My cousin gave birth to a beautiful baby boy a few months ago.

Did anyone close to you die? No one immediately near me, thankfully.

What was your favorite TV program? Game of Thrones, without a doubt. Shark Tank probably takes a close second.

What countries did you visit? Dubai, UAE and Afghanistan. My non-work-related travel was all domestic.

What do you wish you’d done less of? I wish I’d eaten out less and gossiped less.

What date from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? That one’s hard. Maybe starting my new job in December, or my friend’s wedding over Columbus Day, or vacation in September with one of my best friends, or work travel in June that had bombings, or my family member’s bout with illness that started in April…

Did you suffer illness or injury? Not really, just sinus infections/colds.

What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013? Love…as in the true, lasting kind.

What was the best thing you bought? My table and chairs for our dining room.

Where did most of your money go? Experiences – eating out, musicals, events, travel, etc. Trying new restaurants probably racked up the most money.

What was your biggest achievement of the year? Getting promoted twice within 5 months and finding a new job at my promotion’s salary.

What was your biggest failure? I had a couple of failed attempted relationships that were upsetting. I also didn’t do a good job at keeping in touch with family/friends that are long-distance, and I utterly failed in my fitness goals.

What did you get really, really excited about? My new job and my vacations.

What song will always remind you of 2013? TBD…maybe Lorde’s “Royals” just because it’s super overplayed? Or Paradiso Girls’ Patron Tequila song featuring Lil Jon and Eve.


Compared to this time last year, are you…
…happier or sadder?  Happier.

…just older or also wiser? Both.

…thinner or fatter? Fatter. I gained about 15-20 pounds this year, which sucks balls.

…richer or poorer? Richer? I have more in savings and more of my car paid off, plus I’m making more. The potential is all there. (If only my student loans would just disappear.)


What do you wish you’d done more of? Sex.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?The same as always – preppy casual/fashionably comfortable.

Whose behavior merited celebration? Two of my best friends, whom I meet every week for dinner and board games. My roommate, for always cheering me up. My old roommate, for finally dumping her boyfriend who treated her poorly.

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? My sibling’s breakdown upset me quite a good deal earlier this year. I also was very put off by the kink community’s general shift towards shallow and narcissistic interactions.

How will you be spending Christmas? In the midwest with my immediate family.

Did you fall in love in 2013? Nope. I was definitely infatuated a few times, but not love.

How many one night stands? There was one guy I gave head to at Winter Fire that I never met up with again, so I guess that counts? We didn’t have sex, though, so not sure. Otherwise, I only fooled around with folks I was seeing or have ongoing friendships with.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? …That’s hard. I don’t think any one thing would have done it. I guess finding someone to get more serious with, physically and romantically?

How will you be spending New Years? With friends, playing games, doing karaoke, and drinking.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? No. Hate is a strong word. 

What was the best book you read? The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin.

What was your greatest musical discovery? Spotify :).

What did you get and not want? Some kitchen utensils? Some gross OkC and Fetlife messages.

What did you want and not get?  I wanted flowers from someone and I wanted a flogger, and I didn’t get those.

What did you want and get? Too many things to count. Furnishings, cookware, clothing, books. A new job. A close friend at work. Renewed friendships with my old roommates. More routines.

What was your favorite film this year? Frozen.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 25, and I went out to Tapas dinner with some friends then went dancing at some bars I’d never been to.

What kept you sane? My friends, most especially my roommates and their crazy antics, my work friend, and my weekly game nights with my two close friends.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? No one? I don’t dwell on celebrities much.

Whom did you miss? My close friends in WI/OH/IN.

Who was the best new person you met? That’s really difficult. Maybe my work friend, who I’d met but didn’t spend any time with or talk to until this year. That, or a woman who hosts a kinky game group.

What political issue stirred you the most? Striking down DOMA and Edward Snowden.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013. Learn to say no and slow down. It’s ok to trust others with your feelings. I have the power to make men nervous.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. I have absolutely no fucking idea. TBD.

Leave a Reply

