I exist!

I haven’t blogged in forever, for which I apologize to anyone who actually reads this. I find it entertaining, actually, that my page views went up in the months I haven’t posted. It’s a bit weird. Anyhow, life has been a bit of a whirlwind over the last few months. I’m finally starting to get to a place where I can carve out time for myself, and I hope to improve upon that in upcoming months.

In terms of general updates, life is still going quite well. I transitioned to a new project at work in April, and my new supervisor is great and the project is much faster-paced, which suits me. I had my first performance review and did excellently, which was a relief. I sometimes slack off terribly at work, which makes me nervous about reviews, but thankfully no one seems to notice (or they just appreciate other things about me enough, apparently). I traveled for work – domestically, not to a warzone! – and it was a lot of fun. I got to go hiking with my boss, and break in my hiking boots, as well as have some delicious Mexican food.

Family is doing well, and I’ll be traveling a lot in upcoming weeks for a wedding and a relative’s birthday. I’m excited to see a lot of my extended family, but am pretty nervous because I’m bringing my new boyfriend to the wedding. I’ve never actually introduced someone I’m dating to my family before, and it’s freaking me out a tad. My family can be a bit unpredictable, and when on good behavior, they do well with company, but I never know when that façade will shatter. On the other hand, my dude can be pretty snarky and new people can be hard, and I’m worried that will not go over well with my parents. Ugh.

The new boyfriend is good, maybe deserving of a new post of his own, though. We’re about to hit 4 months together, which is pretty awesome.

I also just recently moved. I adore my new apartment complex and unit. I hate the leasing company—they keep giving us bad information about deliveries, parking, grills, etc.—but the neighborhood is great. My commute is less expensive and more pleasant. Instead of walking on an urban street or underground, I get a tree-lined sidewalk. I have a nice bus ride for free on a residential, tree-lined street. I then have a short metro ride and quick walk to the office. All in all, it’s only 10 minutes longer than before, but much more enjoyable. My new apartment has a ton of windows and natural light. We realized just how dark our old place was when the cat was afraid of daytime at the new place… My room ended up being larger than anticipated, and everything fit and is nicely decorated. We have a washer/dryer in unit which makes life SO MUCH easier, and the grill is closer. I love it. AND it’s cheaper than my old place by a ton!

Since moving, I’ve fallen into a routine, which is great. My mornings have to be consistent so that I don’t miss the bus, and it’s spread everywhere. I now have a regular wakeup time (6:15am), a regular bus driver, a regular routine at work (coffee, email, hour of intense productivity), and my hair is even parting naturally to the side now. Basically, I feel like an adult for once, which is really solidifying how much I like my new place.

Leave a Reply

