2014 Year in Review – Part 2 (Resolution Update)

In 2014, I wanted to continue doing some things from 2013, including:

  • weekly gratitude journal
  • weekly game and dinner nights with best friends
  • blogging regularly
  • using goodreads to track my reading
  • using my RSS reader

I did keep up my gratitude journal, although I often journaled in batches weeks after the original events. I’m happy I continued it, although I think I need to prioritize doing it each week as it happens. I had game nights most weeks, although it wasn’t quite as regular as the previous year. I used goodreads and my RSS reader faithfully. I did not blog regularly at all.

I wanted to focus on being healthy. For the most part, I think I succeeded at that, even if it took me about 6 months to start working on it. I lost 25lbs, went to a personal trainer, ran on a treadmill for the first time, tried a bunch of new fitness classes, and cooked a lot of new things. I didn’t lose it mentally, and I certainly had the factors in my life pushing me in that direction. I need to keep up these things and continue trying to make habits.

Check-in on my goals

Things I did:

  • Gossip less. I still gossip more than I please, but no where near as much as last year.
  • Cook at home more. Plus now I take pride in my cooking! I made swordfish, salmon, curries, moo shu chicken, and a lot of other new things.
  • Don’t get lazy with hair/makeup routines. I regularly side part my hair now :).
  • pay off credit cards and keep them paid off
  • pay off my car
  • read 50 books I read 63!
  • clean out all of my material possessions and organize things better I did that before moving in May, but after my mom’s death and losing weight I need to do it again…
  • get matching towels to replace mismatched current ones
  • learn to cook thai curry (I made Red Curry, Green Curry, and Panang)
  • get a raise at my 6 month and 12 month reviews, as I am supposed to
  • try the church my friend’s visit on Capital Hill, or attend a universalist service.
  • See a show at Ford’s Theater I saw Putnam County Spelling Bee
  • See a show at Shakespeare Theater I saw the Tempest
  • See a concert at 9:30 club I saw Delta Rae

Things I didn’t do:

  • Volunteer or donate time and money to charity – give back.
  • save enough for three months expenses and an extra $1,000 (roughly $5,500)
  • Have better posture.
  • Use mouthwash more regularly.
  • Cook macarons and coq au vin
  • write an erotic story
  • answer texts more promptly
  • write handwritten letters to close friends on their birthdays
  • store all online passwords somewhere
  • Go to stand-up open mic night at Arlington Drafthouse
  • Visit the Crime Museum
  • Visit the Botanical Gardens
  • See a military band concert
  • Check out a roller derby event
  • Visit Atlantic City, Ocean City, Virginia Beach, or Williamsburg
Leave a Reply

