Recipe 1 – Coq Au Vin

This year, I want to try cooking a bunch of new recipes and blogging about them, partially in an effort to cook more and challenge myself, and partially to get myself to blog more regularly. Last year, one of my new year’s resolutions was to learn to cook Coq au Vin. I thought I had gotten a french oven for Christmas (later learned, when my roommate shattered it, that I had stoneware…now I do in fact have a french oven) and wanted to use it. It never happened. I kept putting it off because it would be expensive to get the ingredients and it would make so much. I finally said fuck it and made it last night.

I used this recipe from the Le Creuset website: http://www.lecreuset.com/coq-au-vin. It took me about 3.5 hours to do, partially because browning the chicken took a while. I used two packs of chicken thighs (with skin and bones) and one pack of drumsticks instead of whole butchered chickens. I served over mashed potatoes with a bottle of red wine and fancy salad.

Overall, it was a huge success! I learned that to brown chicken, I’m better off using a skillet rather than the dutch oven. I also learned that when flambéing brandy, I should not have the pot near my cabinets. I avoided a fire, but it was close for a second. The recipe made enough for 10 servings. I’m super duper proud of myself :).

Flambeing with brandy.

Flambeing with brandy.

Finished product, prior to serving.

Finished product, prior to serving.

Finished plated product: Coq au Vin with Mashed Potatoes.

Finished plated product: Coq au Vin with Mashed Potatoes.

Other recipes I’d like to try this year, among those in cookbooks I own:

Leave a Reply

