Recipes 4 and 5 – Bread Baking

Another new years’ resolution accomplished!

In the last week, I’ve made two different types of bread, one from a King Arthur Flour cookbook for Hibernian brown bread and the other from a recipe from a friend for a traditional yeast bread.

The Hibernian Brown Bread was super easy, and I made it because I had all the ingredients just laying around. Handy, right? I like how easy it is, although it isn’t my favorite bread. The final result is really dense. It tasted good with jam or honey, but by itself was a bit too much.

Hibernian Brown Bread

Hibernian Brown Bread

Hibernian Brown Bread

Hibernian Brown Bread

The traditional yeast bread was from a friend, and was mostly good. I used a bit too much salt, and overfloured while kneading, but it was still really yummy. I plan to make it again using roasted garlic and rosemary, as my friend originally made it for me. With less salt, of course! This bread has to rise for 12-20 hours, so it’s a bit more time consuming to make, but otherwise is super easy.

Yeast bread before rising.

Yeast bread before rising.

Yeast bread turned out on the counter.

Yeast bread turned out on the counter.

Yeast bread finished product.

Yeast bread finished product.

Sliced yeast bread.

Sliced yeast bread.

Leave a Reply

