April, May, and June Catch Ups

April:

Frugality – I injured my knee at the very end of this month (torn meniscus at a trampoline place…), which resulted in emergency room fees putting me over budget. Otherwise, I was proud of how I’d accurately predicted expenses going into the month. I also got promoted this month (Yay!!) which boosted my annual predictive savings, which was exciting.

Fitness – Didn’t win on this one. Was really pumped about an active date night, but that ended up killing my knee.

Friends – Was a great month for this. I had a double date with one bridesmaid and her SO, had a girls spa day to celebrate mutually occurring birthdays with another bridesmaid, had a movie night with my cousin who lives locally, saw friends in Philly while we went to town for a quick jaunt, and continued monthly dinners with grad school friends. Overall, good! I also went over to my cousin’s one night for Shabbat and saw my aunt, which was nice.

May:

Frugality – The knee injury caused lots of issues with my budget this month. I had to pay copays, and then was told to go to physical therapy 2x/week for 8 weeks at $30 a pop. Then, to make matters even more fun, my brakes made a horrid sound and ended up needing to be replaced for another $700 hit. Joy.

Fitness –  This is sort of a good/bad this month. Since I was injured, I couldn’t really do much in terms of the gym. I suspended my membership. But, on the other hand, PT is actually a pretty good workout (weighted leg lifts/raises, bike, squats, lunges, etc.). I 100% got my workout in the two weeks I was on crutches because those things are a BITCH.

Friends – My friends really pulled through this month. I was sad and drugged, and friends came over to telework with me so they could get me lunch (the kitchen was a different level in our house and I couldn’t manage stairs the first week injured). One friend far away sent me an awesome care package with a coloring book. The Fiance was amazingly caring and helpful. At the end of the month, the Fiance and I went to visit my aunt and uncle in another state. I didn’t grow up knowing them well, so we wanted to foster the relationship. It was a great trip, relaxing and nice to learn more about them and my mom’s family. I also celebrated a bridal shower for a good friend.

June:

Frugality – Another month of PT expenses and, because of ongoing digestive issues (possibly from the vicodin), medicine and doctors appointments. Then, I decided to do a diet change (see Fitness for more) which meant a ton of extra grocery expenses. AHH!

Fitness – Decided to do Whole30 with my man from June 20 to July 19th. Whole30 is an elimination diet where you can’t have added sugar (including honey), dairy, legumes, grains, and most processed foods. Even corn and soy are out. This required a major refresh of our pantry and recipe planning. I’ve been having digestive issues since late April, and haven’t felt well pretty much all year (continually getting sick with one thing or another), and wanted a reset. My doctor did a bunch of tests on my blood and stool to see if anything was wrong, and didn’t find anything. Before I go to a GI doctor and end up with lots of testing, I wanted to see if diet could help some of it. I’m on probiotics, prilosec, and my gallbladder meds have been doubled, alongside these diet changes. I’ve seen improvement thus far, so fingers crossed I’ll be good to go. I’ve been doing more at my PT sessions and getting the sweat on while there.

Friends – I’ve seen a lot of my local friends at some point this month, which is good. I celebrated a friend’s bachelorette party, and have plans to go away for July 4th with some others. I’ve traveled a lot this month so there hasn’t been a TON of local activity, but still some fun where I can. I also helped my MOH find her wedding dress, which was super fun!

Leave a Reply

