Wedding Update

I’ve been engaged for just over 7 months, and I’m getting married in 4 months!! I’ve been pretty awful at blogging, but thought I’d post about some of the things we’re working on. Right now, my to-do list includes setting up four different meetings for this fall with various vendors for “8 week” check ins and hair/makeup trials. I also am trying to pin down my aunt for a visit in August for my first dress fitting, because she wants to help me pick out my veil/hairpiece. I need to chat with my dad about our father/daughter song (I hate the song he picked, which is a generic ‘made for weddings’ song). We need to schedule premarital counseling sessions and dance lessons. Allll the things. At some point, we’ll also have to start buying some decor items and procuring our guestbook stand-in and cocktail hour activity items. Oh, and we need to pick shooting locations for our engagement photos.

Planning a wedding isn’t easy! I feel like I’ve been kind of skating along until now, though. We booked a lot of vendors immediately – venue, dj, florist, photographer. That was easy for me since it was a concrete task. We did an engagement session with our photographer and realized we had creative differences, so we ended up booking a second photographer, done. Bought a wedding dress quickly and still love it. I’m a little regretful that I didn’t go for the blush color, but I love my dress anyway. Invited wedding party, rehearsal venue booked, made website, booked hotels, made a registry, sent save the dates, bought my wedding band, collected addresses for guest list, all done. One bridesmaid did a sample of our favors, and that’s done – we’ll order supplies in bulk and spend a night on that in October to finish that part off. My MOH has the shower venue booked and invites are pending, and the bachelorette party flights and hotel are booked. (We’re going to Puerto Rico, yay! Hopefully Zika won’t kill or maim all our future babies, for those that plan to have them.) 2 of 5 bridesmaids have ordered dresses, but my MOH is on it for tracking them all down and making sure that happens.

At some point, I also have to figure out day of transport, signage for day-of (menu, program), song list of do/do not play, day-of schedule, card box, photos for decor, head table decor, rehearsal cake tasting, altar flowers, ceremony reading (if any), my vows, bridesmaid gifts, gift for my dad and for my fiance on day-of, a shot list, table personalization, table numbers, mani/pedi day-before booking, week before waxing and facial, marriage license, rehearsal outfit, a slideshow for rehearsal (if I want it), invites, and name cards. We also need a list of who to tip day of with envelopes set aside with cash, and a chart of which vendors we owe money and when during the last few weeks.

I have plans underway already for shoe, bra, and lingerie procurement and floor plan and linens happen at our 8 week meeting.

This is why people get stressed about weddings! So many things. Most of them requires sitting down with my man and just making some decisions then purchasing things. Some require much more thought, like my vows…I am going to see what things on this list I can delegate…perhaps the shot list first draft, do-play first draft for dj, and mani/pedi booking, at a minimum. If I gather photos, I can perhaps have someone do the slideshow too. The ridiculous part of all of this is that I just want to be married and have a fun party and pretty day, I don’t care about a lot of this. It still has to happen, though, sadly.

The one thing that has definitely be the most fun to plan is our honeymoon. We both love traveling, and had a huge list of options. We debated the UK, Australia, and more. Ultimately, we ruled out Europe since it’ll be November. We were thinking strongly about Africa for safari, but decided early morning (5am) wakeups was better for another year. We then moved onto Nicaragua, since this travel show we went to had a great option, but it ended up being more money than we wanted to spend. We moved to Florida/Disney combined with an island (I wanted St. Lucia), but there are NO flights from Orlando to remote islands, go figure. We ended up deciding to go to California and do the Pacific Coast Highway. We’re pumped!

Our plan is to fly into San Francisco, then do Napa, Route 1 south (Santa Cruz, Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur, Solvang, Santa Barbara), and end in LA. We get to do great food, wine, hot air balloons, beach, scenery, cooking class, studio tours, disney, and more…and lots of sex in unique inns and B’n’Bs. We’re hoping to check out the Armory and Wicked Grounds in SF too to indulge a bit in my kinky side. We may splurge on some toys at a local shop to add variety to the intimacy those weeks. We just finished booking our last hotel, and we can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

