2016 Resolution Update (Part 1)

The italicized answer was last year’s response.

What did you do in 2016 that you’d never done before?

2016: I got married, I drove the Pacific Coast Highway and visited Big Sur, Napa, Carmel by the Sea, and San Francisco, I had an MRI, I played some new board games (Smash Up, Sentinels of the Multiverse, Red Flags), I cooked a bunch of new recipes, I opened an American Express credit card, I got my first joint savings account, I bought a used car, and I went to Puerto Rico.

2015: I got engaged, I went to Animal Kingdom in Disney, I played a bunch of new board games and cooked a bunch of new recipes, I saw Kennedy Space Center in Florida, I saw the botanical conservatory, and I moved in with my boyfriend.

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

2016: Like last year, I read more than my goal of books and I kept up game nights and my RSS feed, but I sucked at blogging. I didn’t meet my financial goals, in part due to overspending and in part due to unanticipated medical and car expenses (hurting my knee was a big financial whammy). Fitness was not a success on the whole, although I did successfully complete a Whole30 month. I also successfully did a month-long spending fast.

2015: As per usual, I kept some and not others. I read as many books as I wanted and kept up with game nights and my RSS feed, but I didn’t keep up with blogging or my gratitude journal. I met my financial goals, and I saved passwords electronically. I totally let my fitness slip. I’ll make more next year, though.

Did anyone close to you give birth?

2016: A different cousin gave birth to a baby in December, and one of my college roommate’s had a baby girl in November.

2015: My cousin gave birth to a baby girl in October.

Did anyone close to you die?

2016: Nope.

2015: Nope.

What was your favorite TV program?

2016: Suits, Game of Thrones, The Fosters, Life in Pieces, This is Us, Designated Survivor, Law and Order: SVU.

2015: Quantico, iZombie, Limitless, Shark Tank, The Fosters, Suits, Game of Thrones, Brooklyn Nine Nine.

What countries did you visit?

2016: Same as last year – stayed domestic.

2015: Just the good ole US of A.

What do you wish you’d done less of?

2016: Shopping.

2015: Eating out and eating poor food choices.

What date from 2016 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

2016: November 6th, the day I got married.

2015: November 7th, the day I got engaged.

Did you suffer illness or injury?

2016: Sadly, yes – I tore my ACL and lateral/medial meniscus’ in a trampoline incident. ACL reconstruction and meniscal repairs knee surgery scheduled for January 13th (Waited until after wedding/honeymoon/holidays).

2015: Nothing beyond the norm.

What would you like to have in 2017 that you lacked in 2016?

2016: More self-discipline. I want to be able to tell myself (and others) no when I want something but know it isn’t a great choice (think eating out, expensive entertainment, staying awake too late, too much ice cream).

2015: Dedication to fitness, and proactive communication with friends/family.

What was the best thing you bought?

2016: A used red 2008 prius, a new duvet cover (that amazingly brightens our bedroom), travel experiences.

2015: All of the owl things…furniture for my place with my now fiance.

Where did most of your money go?

2016: Cars (issues with my car, husband’s car dying but needing to be paid off, buying a new-to-us car together), physical therapy and dr appointments for my knee injury, my wedding and honeymoon, being a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding (hair, travel, bachelorette party, etc.), eating out, bills, savings.

2015: Bills and travel.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

2016: Getting promoted, saving more money than I put away last year.

2015: Getting a perfect rating at my job another time, saving more than 5K.

What was your biggest failure?

2016: I didn’t do some things I wished I did – like get in better shape, for example – but I don’t know that I “failed” at anything in particular. I feel like this past year was full of learning and ups and downs, but nothing that was a black and white negative/failure. Guess I’m getting more #woo with my age.

2015: Gaining back all the weight I’d lost plus some.

What did you get really, really excited about?

2016: My husband (ee!) – our wedding and honeymoon, the wedding of a good friend, vacation weekends, reading good books, cooking, personal finance.

2015: My dude – our new place, our wedding; several good friends’ engagements; and vacations.

What song will always remind you of 2016?

2016: They bring me to you by Josh Radin (my first dance song with my hubby).

2015: …I honestly don’t know.

*for next questions, last year in parentheses*
Compared to this time last year, are you…
…happier or sadder?  About the same (happier)

…just older or also wiser? Both. (Both)

…thinner or fatter? About the same (fatter)

…richer or poorer?  Richer, for all the same reasons as last year. (Richer; car and credit cards paid off, more in savings and retirement, making more money.)

What do you wish you’d done more of? Exercising my knee at home, blogging or other journalling. (Work out more.)

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2016? The same as always – preppy casual/fashionably comfortable. (same response from 2015)

Whose behavior merited celebration?  For their behavior insomuch as it applied to me – my husband for his amazing support, my dad and mother-in-law’s financial assistance with the wedding, my friends who helped make our wedding fabulous despite my stress. For behavior that benefited them in large ways – my sister, who had weight loss surgery and has drastically improved her quality of life, and one of my friends who has taken her parents into her home permanently to help them financially and healthwise. (My fiance)

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? I don’t know that I was “appalled” per se, but I did struggle with my father yet again. This year he sold our house and I never got to go back or say goodbye to the memories there with my mom, and he also got engaged. (My father, for not communicating well or putting my sister and I first during tough times.)

How will you be spending Christmas? In the midwest with my immediate family. (same response)

Did you fall in love in 2016? More in love :). (Yes)

How many one night stands? 0. (0).

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Not injuring my knee, and being able to kick butt at exercise instead of trying to recuperate. (Working out more)

How will you be spending New Years? At a friend’s house. (With my aunt and uncle and cousin, fiance, and some friends at my house.)

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? No. Hate is a strong word. (same response as last year)

What was the best book you read?  I don’t have one best book this year. I really like “The Girl on the Train,” “Finding Audrey,” and two romantic-erotica series (Masters of Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair and Masters and Mercenaries by Lexi Blake). (The Martian by Andy Weir.)

What was your greatest musical discovery? I don’t really know of one. (same response as last year)

What did you get and not want? I don’t recall getting anything I didn’t want…maybe more owl things? We have too many as-is. (Umm holidays with my dad’s girlfriend?)

What did you want and not get? A certain set of glasses for the kitchen, new sheets, a meat thermometer (I’m a sexy lady), and a cartier locking love bracelet (a girl can dream, right?). (Towel warmer, wake up light, dna profile. )

What did you want and get? Promoted, married, closer to some extended family, a wake-up light. (Engaged, closer to a few friends, new place to call home, cheesemaking kit :).)

What was your favorite film this year? Eddie the Eagle, Me Before You, Bad Moms…and I honestly only saw like 3 other movies the whole year. There were a TON I wanted to see but didn’t, though. (The Martian, Spy, Trainwreck.)

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Turned 28, had an italian potluck party at my house. (Turned 27, went to Medieval Times with a bunch of friends.)

What kept you sane? My goals and vision for my future (stress during the wedding – thinking about married life with my husband kept me sane, etc.), and my husband and closest friends. (My fiance, closest friends, roommates while we lived together. )

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Paul Rudd, of course, and Chris Pratt. (No one? I don’t dwell on celebrities much.)

Whom did you miss? My mom. (My family, most of all my mom.)

Who was the best new person you met? I really liked one of my friend’s other bridesmaids and some of our neighbors we recently met. (Um…my current team at work, including two new people I like a lot?)

What political issue stirred you the most? The election. ‘Nuff said. (Gay marriage passing, planned parenthood being threatened.)

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2016. A plan is only as good as your ability to adjust and implement it. (You get what you give in terms of relationships.)

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. No clue. (I have absolutely no fucking idea.)

Leave a Reply

