Day 11, 30 Days of Me

Day 11: Describe 10 pet peeves you have.

  1. The sound of people chewing ice
  2. The sound of people chewing with their mouths open
  3. People who regularly ignore a phone call but send a text. This is only acceptable when you’re in a quiet place.
  4. People on the metro who lean on the pole during rush hour, leaving no space for anyone to stabilize themselves.
  5. People who are always late for no reason.
  6. When people switch lanes without using indicators/turn signals
  7. When no-one sits in the aisle seat on a plane, but the person in the middle doesn’t move over
  8. People who don’t use full sentences, thoughts, or grammar in messages/emails
  9. When my GPS can’t figure out where I am (Garmin or Phone)
  10. When someone won’t commit to plans in advance. You should always try to make people feel like a priority, or at the very least, not make them feel like an afterthought.

Day 10, 30 Days of Me

Day 10: Describe your most embarrassing moment.

Sort of getting annoyed with this exercise, as it’s more difficult than anticipated.

I don’t know that I have a most embarrassing moment. I embarrass myself regularly. For example, on Friday, I was walking across one of the most busy roads in the city, and I wiped out face first. I didn’t trip on something, or someone. There was no ice. My ankle rolled and BOOM I hit the ground. I got up and quickly walked away. Embarrassing.

Generally, I’m awkward. I win here, though, because usually I laugh and brush it off. It rolls off my back now. Or I cringe, and repress the memory.

Really, my most terribly awkward moments happened in middle school, back when I was cripplingly shy and socially anxious. In high school, show choir sort of kicked that out of me and let me revel in my weird – on stage no less. Middle school, not so much. Most of those moments dealt with my terribly obvious crush on a guy in my class. One such incident was in 6th grade, when my sister told this guy I liked him on the bus and made me cry. Another incident was in 8th grade, when we had square dancing in history class. Our entire class engineered it so we’d be forced to partner up. Mortifying.

Other than that…yeah, nadda.